TWCS Library

Reviews For Life In The Balance
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Gelsa Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Sep 2014 11:41 AM Title: Chapter 38 - Bonded In Truth

Just found this yesterday. What a story. I wonder if Victoria was hired by James family to kill Bella before trial

 

Reviewer: jamiebaker68 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Sep 2014 3:25 AM Title: Chapter 38 - Bonded In Truth

wow, just wow, this story is great, and i cant wait to read more. I just started this story today so i was wondering what kind of schedual you have for this?

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Jan 2014 4:21 AM Title: Chapter 35 - The First Date

Looking forward to the next chapter

Reviewer: CaptCron76 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 25 Dec 2013 1:28 AM Title: Chapter 13 - Letting It All Out

What a twist! All of this time I assumed it was Edward! I totally did not see that coming! I really like this story, and I can't wait to read more!!!

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Sep 2013 5:55 AM Title: Chapter 33 - Unexpected Confessions

Looking forward to more



Author's Response:

Thanks for the review, hun. I'm glad you liked it. Much love - D

Here's a quick peek at the next chapter which will post later tonight:

"You planned this, didn't you?" I said as everything about the setting hit me.

"I would say so."

Edward's voice made me jump and I banged my wrist against the table. He leaned in and kissed Esme's cheek then slid into the seat next to her. Concern took over as his eyes landed on the hand I was using to massage the sting from my wrist.

"Are you okay?"

He reached a hand out to me but I pulled my arm into my chest. "I'm fine, just a little bump. What are you doing here?"

The left corner of his mouth turned up before he turned back to Esme, draping an arm over her shoulder and hugging her close.

"Taking the most amazing woman in the world out to dinner." He kissed her cheek again. "I am surprised to see you here, though. Shouldn't you be at home?"

Suddenly, I felt like a third wheel, getting in the way of what was obviously supposed to be a mother/son dinner. I grabbed my purse, cursing myself for even coming.

Reviewer: PattinsonsDiscoStickIsMine Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 03 Jun 2013 4:21 AM Title: Chapter 30 - Memory Lane

OMG THIS STORY IS SO GOOD I REALLY HOPE I GET THE CHANCE TO SEE IT TO THE END YOU SEE I JUST FOUND OUT I HAVE CANCER I'M UNDERGOING TREATMENT IT'S A MASS OUT SIDE MY PANCREUS TAKING CHEMO THEN TO TOP THAT OFF PUTTING IN A PICKLINE FOUND MORE CANCER IN MY NECK THE DOCTORS SEEM HOPFUL BUT I'M NO FOOL I KNOW HOPE SHORT LIFE CAN BE SO I HOPE MINE IS LONG ENOUGH TO ENJOY THE REST OF YOUR STORY.



Author's Response:

I am really glad you decided to push through and read to the end. I know it was a let down to most people when they realized Edward wasn't Bella's lawyer, but he has such a special place in this story that it just wasn't possible to interchange the characters. It had to be Carlisle. There really was no other choice.

And, I'm so sorry to hear about the cancer. I can't begin to imagine how hard that is for you. Keep your head up and have faith and I'll be praying for you too, hun. And I will do my best to finish this story as fast as I can. Thanks so much for sticking with me through this and I can't wait to make it to the end together. Much love to you - D

Here's a quick peek at the next chapter:

"Come on, Jess," Jared said, crowding Edward at the door. "You've blown us off for weeks now. Too much work can kill you, ya know."

Getting caught could kill me faster.

I shook my head, dismissing the thought. "Sorry, I just can't. Maybe next time." "Sorry, I just can't. Maybe next time."

"Look," Edward jumped back in, "we all know how amazing Esme's cooking is but you can't tell me you'd rather have day old food over a nice, fresh, juicy burger."

He licked his lips and his eyes gleamed as he said it. I stood, grabbed a tissue and stepped to him to wipe his chin.

"Drooling Edward? Really?"

He stepped back with a laugh. "It's just that good."

"Maybe next time," I repeated. "Now go on, I have work to do."

"You don't know what you're missing." Jared's singsong voice reinforced Edward's point.

"Alright, alright, let the lady breathe." Quil's hand reached in and pulled Jared from the room.

"Thank you, Quil." I nodded my head at him. "Now please, get these hooligans out of my office."

"Hooligans?" Edward's eyebrow shot up. "You've been hanging out with Esme way too much."

Quil, always the peacekeeper of the group, began to usher Edward out of the room.

"Next week, Jess," Edward called over his shoulder. "You're coming with us."

"Bye guys," I called back with a teasing hint to my tone.

Not likely, Edward, I said to myself as I sat back down at my desk.

Reviewer: PattinsonsDiscoStickIsMine Signed half-star [Report This]
Date: 18 May 2013 5:09 AM Title: Chapter 14 - No More Secrets

OH I'M SO PISSED ALL THIS TIME I THOUGHT IT WAS EDWARD WHAT WAS BELLA'S LAWYER AND IT CARLISLE WHAT THE HELL YOU MAY HAVE JUST LOST ME AS A READER OF THIS STORY ANYWAYS

Reviewer: TillITryIllNeverKnow Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Jan 2013 1:34 AM Title: Chapter 26 - The Aftermath

Outstanding!  The volatility, emotional angst and drama here all work so-o well.  The subject matter is tough, but what you do with it is heart wrenchingly superb.  You make us all FEEL!  And feel big time; just as you make the characters feel big time.  From Jasper and Paul who's misplaced quilt is weighing them down, to Alice's defiant demand for what is right and just, to Carlisle's ever deepening love and devotion and terror.  Just now Bella is trying not to feel quite as much as she normally does, but that is understandable.  The hope here lies (for me) in her knowing, hearing, and trying to listen to Jasper.  These people have become a part of her new world and she is hanging on by her fingertips to it even if she doesn't realize it.  Thank you for all your hard work!  Brava!



Author's Response:

Holy cow! I can't thank you enough for the compliments on this story. It is one of the hardest things in the world for me to write and to know that you like it so much means a lot to me. You know, these characters are so vivid in my mind and there are times when I don't believe I portray them properly but, with your words, you've told me in one shot that I've done exactly what I thought I wasn't because you seem to see what I see in them. So thanks for that.  As for the story itself, Bella's got some amazing people who care about her and the course of her future will depend on how far she allows them into her life. She still hasn't made up her mind about that but maybe the outcome of this one incident will help her decide. Thanks so so much for your review. I truly appreciate your words and hope to hear more from you in the future. Much love - D

Here's a quick peek at the next chapter (from a very unexpected pov), which will be posted later today:

In seconds, I was in the kitchen searching the phonebook for the closest hospital. Another second, the phone was ringing. A woman answered but I cut her off before she finished her greeting.

"Isabella Swan," I roared. "Please."

"Excuse me?"

I took a breath to calm down. "I'm looking for Isabella Swan. Is she there? I mean, has she been admitted?"

"One moment please."

I paced the kitchen while she checked.

"Come on." She was taking too long. "Come on."

I froze when I heard her voice. "I'm sorry, Sir, there has been no one by that name admitted in the last twenty-four hours. Do you..."

Ending the call, I ran my finger down the page in the phone book, looking for the next closest hospital. As I found the number, I punched it in and began pacing again as I waited for someone to answer. When a woman picked up, I quickly asked for Bella and waited, again, while the operator searched for her.

"Yes, Sir, Ms. Swan was brought in this morning but I'm sorry, that's all the information I'm allowed to share."

I was in my room before she finished her sentence, pulling clothes from their hangers.

"Thank you. That's all I need."

Reviewer: TillITryIllNeverKnow Signed [Report This]
Date: 10 Jan 2013 1:30 PM Title: Chapter 25 - Buying Time

Marvelous chapter.  I'm looking forward to Bella's  "vision quest".



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you like it. Some of the best parts are still to come. Thanks for the review, darlin. Love you tons - D

Here's a quick peek at the next chapter which will be posted later today:

"You son of a bitch!" I screamed and ran, pushing his sleeping body, jolting him awake.

"Alice?"

"You're fucking drinking! Again!"

"No, I..."

"She could be dead and you'd never know ‘cause you can't stop drinking this shit!" I threw the half empty vodka bottle, shattering it against the wall. "That's it! I've had enough. I can't do this with you anymore!" I turned and ran from his office.

Carlisle was on me before I could pull the door open, fingers around my arm, jerking me to a stop.

"Alice, what wrong? Who's--"

My slap silenced him. "You said you care about her. You're supposed to be there for her! How can you let her down like this?"

"What are you talking about?"

"Bella!" I yanked my arm away from him. "She's lying in some hospital somewhere all alone because you can't stop drinking long enough to pick up the fucking phone!"    

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Nov 2012 6:12 PM Title: Chapter 24 - The Last Straw

looking forward to mroe 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the last chapter. Bella's going to get herself into some trouble in the next one. I hope you like it.  Thanks so much for the review, darlin. I really appreciate it. Love you tons - D

Here's a quick peek at the next chapter:

On my knees at the corner of my cell, I caught his reflection in the mirror and stuck a shaking hand through the bars to tap on the floor. The silence was maddening as I prayed for him to hurry so we could talk. Just when I couldn't take the wait any longer, I heard the three short taps on the railing that told me he couldn't talk and my heart sank.

Did those taps mean he really couldn't talk or was he still too angry with me to want to help?

His footsteps brought him closer and I was on my feet just as he came into view. I had to wait for him to walk a few more steps before I could speak.

"Paul, please, I need you."

"Not now, Bella." I could hear the anger in his whispered words.

"I'm sorry, okay." I moved along the length of my cell as he walked by. "Paul, please, I'm so sorry. I didn't mean what I said. Please talk to me, Carlisle needs..."

He faced me with a spark of anger in his eyes. "Carlisle needs answers, Bella. He needs the truth and you need to give it to him. If you can't do that, then I can't help you."

Reviewer: bam21 Signed [Report This]
Date: 30 Nov 2012 5:09 PM Title: Chapter 24 - The Last Straw

love it!!!!!!!!!!



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked this chapter. Next chapter reveals a few more secrets before Bella gets herself into some more trouble. Thanks for the review. I really appreciate it. Much love - D

Here's a quick peek at the next chapter:

On my knees at the corner of my cell, I caught his reflection in the mirror and stuck a shaking hand through the bars to tap on the floor. The silence was maddening as I prayed for him to hurry so we could talk. Just when I couldn't take the wait any longer, I heard the three short taps on the railing that told me he couldn't talk and my heart sank.

Did those taps mean he really couldn't talk or was he still too angry with me to want to help?

His footsteps brought him closer and I was on my feet just as he came into view. I had to wait for him to walk a few more steps before I could speak.

"Paul, please, I need you."

"Not now, Bella." I could hear the anger in his whispered words.

"I'm sorry, okay." I moved along the length of my cell as he walked by. "Paul, please, I'm so sorry. I didn't mean what I said. Please talk to me, Carlisle needs..."

He faced me with a spark of anger in his eyes. "Carlisle needs answers, Bella. He needs the truth and you need to give it to him. If you can't do that, then I can't help you."

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Nov 2012 1:10 PM Title: Chapter 23 - The Worst Day

looking forward to more 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked the last chapter. The next one is also a hard one as we finally get to hear what happened to Jake. Thanks so much for the review, darlin. I really appreciate it. Love you tons - D

Here's a quick peek at the next chapter:

"You know, I probably could have lived with it, dealt with the dreams and the urge to just... just... hurt him. I would have given him what he wanted and stayed with him forever if..."

My breathing picked up and it took Carlisle's hand grabbing mine again, holding it tightly to calm me back down.

"If?" he urged.

With one squeeze to his hand, I answered, "If Jake didn't get hurt. That was the last straw for me. That pushed me over the edge." I looked into Carlisle's eyes. "You saw him. That happened because of me and you have to know what that did to me."

"Tell me." His eyes pleaded with me. "I'm here for you, Bella. You don't have to carry this alone anymore."

"I would be lying if I said I wasn't happy and even felt a little vindicated, when I saw the black eye, bruises and band aids that covered James' face when he came to pick me up from the hospital. He had never told me who it was that beat him up so badly, but he didn't have to. I already knew.

"It took a couple weeks before Jake finally told me the truth and when he did, I wanted to hug him, kiss him, thank him for standing up for me, but I didn't. He had no idea what that fight would cost him. It nearly cost him his life but instead, it cost him everything he'd ever dreamed of and the family he had always hoped for."

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2012 10:30 PM Title: Chapter 22 - The Truth About Ben

looking forward to more



Author's Response:

Sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your review. As you know, I usually do my replies the day before I post or, like today, early in the morning before I post in the afternoon or evening, but when you see the length of this one, you'll understand why this one took so long.

I'm glad you liked the last chapter but hold on tight, love. We're in for a bumpy ride.

Let me apologize, again for the lack of updates. I don't always get them out as fast as I want to, but I am working hard to make sure I don't leave you hanging for too long. So, I hope you're still sticking with me. And thanks for the review. I really, really appreciate it. Much love - D

Here's a quick peek at the chapter I'll be posting later today:

"You don't have to, Bella," he whispered after several minutes.

His words forced a response. "Yes, I do."

One more deep breath and I tightened my fingers around his.

"You already know how jealous James was. No other man could touch me without his anger taking over. It wasn't too bad when it was someone like my principal or the other teachers in the school and I was able to talk him down most times and walk away without a mark. Even with Sam, I could get away most of the time with just an argument. But with Jake, he would literally flip out.

"I never understood how he could be so insanely jealous of Jake. It didn't matter that I had told him a million times that Jake was more like family to me. It didn't matter that he and Leah were so in love with each other that he couldn't even look at another girl. It didn't even matter that Jake had proposed to Leah and they were planning a wedding. James still lost it every time we were even close to each other. Some of the worst beatings he ever gave me were because Jake and I would always find ourselves closer to each other than James approved of. It was never intentional. We were close. It was just the way we were." I paused. "That's what happened in 2006."

Reviewer: manolomel9 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Aug 2012 9:45 PM Title: Chapter 22 - The Truth About Ben

Great chapter, lots of information to digest in this one...and we finally hear about Edward, so I'm super excited for the next chapter!



Author's Response:

Sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your review. I usually do my replies the day before I post or, like today, early in the morning before I post in the afternoon or evening, but when you see the length of this one, you'll understand why this one took so long.

I'm glad you like the last chapter. Ben is a really a big part of Bella's life, even if they're physical presence together only lasted a few months. And yes, we finally get to see how Edward fits into this story. It isn't quite time for his story yet - I have a couple important chapters to get through first - but we're getting closer. Alice is on his trail and she's told Carlisle about him. And now that he knows what Bella's been hiding, you know he's going to want to know everything.

Before I go, let me apologize. This story is a killer for me to write. Updates don't always come as often as I want them to, but I am working hard to make sure I don't leave you hanging for too long. So, I hope you stick with me. And thanks for the review. I really, really appreciate it. Much love - D

Here's a quick peek at the chapter I'll be posting later today:

"You don't have to, Bella," he whispered after several minutes.

His words forced a response. "Yes, I do."

One more deep breath and I tightened my fingers around his.

"You already know how jealous James was. No other man could touch me without his anger taking over. It wasn't too bad when it was someone like my principal or the other teachers in the school and I was able to talk him down most times and walk away without a mark. Even with Sam, I could get away most of the time with just an argument. But with Jake, he would literally flip out.

"I never understood how he could be so insanely jealous of Jake. It didn't matter that I had told him a million times that Jake was more like family to me. It didn't matter that he and Leah were so in love with each other that he couldn't even look at another girl. It didn't even matter that Jake had proposed to Leah and they were planning a wedding. James still lost it every time we were even close to each other. Some of the worst beatings he ever gave me were because Jake and I would always find ourselves closer to each other than James approved of. It was never intentional. We were close. It was just the way we were." I paused. "That's what happened in 2006."

Reviewer: Kristens Lover 004 Signed starstarstarhalf-star [Report This]
Date: 09 May 2012 3:56 PM Title: Chapter 21 - A Look At The Past

Cant wait for an update!!



Author's Response:

Sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your review. I usually do my replies the day before I post or, like today, early in the morning before I post in the afternoon or evening.

I'm really glad you like the chapter. Alice is definitely getting some good information. Now, it's Ben's turn to talk and if she thought Carmen shared a lot, it's nothing compared to what he's going to give her.

Now, I do have to apologize. This story is a killer for me to write. Updates don't always come as often as I want them to. Just know that I will never abandon it. So, I hope you stick with me. And thanks for the review. I really, really appreciate it. Much love - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at Alice's conversation with Ben:

Ben Cheney had been in my room for less than thirty minutes and he'd given me a whole new perspective on Bella's life, one I'd never considered before.

"I've followed the steps that brought Bella here," I began. "I have this picture in my head of her being scared, maybe a little paranoid but I always believed it was because she knew she had to stay hidden, hoping with everything she had in her that she'd finally gotten away. That had to be hard enough to live through."

I rubbed my temples, trying to get rid of the headache I could feel coming.

"I never thought about how unnerving it would be to know that no matter how hard she tried, nothing was ever going to work. That it was never a question of if he would find her but when. I can only imagine how hard it was for her to keep running after she realized it was useless."

"Bella was already at that point when we met. She told me once that if she ran, he would find her and if she stayed, he would kill her. She was desperate, but running was all she knew." Ben took a deep breath, closing his eyes for a brief second before adding, "I offered to change that."

"So Carmen was right about you and Bella?" I blurted out.

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Apr 2012 11:43 PM Title: Chapter 21 - A Look At The Past

looking forward to the next chatper 



Author's Response:

I'm really, really glad you like it. And I'm sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your review. The next chapter was a killer for me to write. But it's done and it'll be up later today. 

Now, I do have to apologize. Updates don't always come as often as I want them to. Just know that I will never abandon this. So, I hope you stick with me. And thanks for the review. It really means a lot to me. Love you tons - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at Alice's conversation with Ben:

Ben Cheney had been in my room for less than thirty minutes and he'd given me a whole new perspective on Bella's life, one I'd never considered before.

"I've followed the steps that brought Bella here," I began. "I have this picture in my head of her being scared, maybe a little paranoid but I always believed it was because she knew she had to stay hidden, hoping with everything she had in her that she'd finally gotten away. That had to be hard enough to live through."

I rubbed my temples, trying to get rid of the headache I could feel coming.

"I never thought about how unnerving it would be to know that no matter how hard she tried, nothing was ever going to work. That it was never a question of if he would find her but when. I can only imagine how hard it was for her to keep running after she realized it was useless."

"Bella was already at that point when we met. She told me once that if she ran, he would find her and if she stayed, he would kill her. She was desperate, but running was all she knew." Ben took a deep breath, closing his eyes for a brief second before adding, "I offered to change that."

"So Carmen was right about you and Bella?" I blurted out.

Reviewer: TillITryIllNeverKnow Signed [Report This]
Date: 19 Apr 2012 4:28 PM Title: Chapter 21 - A Look At The Past

This chapter simply oozes emotion and raw viseral pain.  Alice is an amazing release valve for te story and she really earns her brownie points here!  Kudos on another stunning chapter!



Author's Response:

Sorry it's taken so long for me to reply to your review. I usually do my replies the day before I post or, like today, early in the morning before I post in the afternoon or evening.

I'm really glad you like the chapter. Carmen saw a side of Bella that she didn't usually show people, but she felt safe in Forks and probably would have stayed there if it weren't for James. Now, Alice is moving on to her conversation with Ben, and if she thought Carmen shared a lot, it's nothing compared to what he's going to give her.

Now, I do have to apologize. This story is a killer for me to write. Updates don't always come as often as I want them to. Just know that I will never abandon it. So, I hope you stick with me. And thanks for the review. I really, really appreciate it. Much love - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at Alice's conversation with Ben:

Ben Cheney had been in my room for less than thirty minutes and he'd given me a whole new perspective on Bella's life, one I'd never considered before.

"I've followed the steps that brought Bella here," I began. "I have this picture in my head of her being scared, maybe a little paranoid but I always believed it was because she knew she had to stay hidden, hoping with everything she had in her that she'd finally gotten away. That had to be hard enough to live through."

I rubbed my temples, trying to get rid of the headache I could feel coming.

"I never thought about how unnerving it would be to know that no matter how hard she tried, nothing was ever going to work. That it was never a question of if he would find her but when. I can only imagine how hard it was for her to keep running after she realized it was useless."

"Bella was already at that point when we met. She told me once that if she ran, he would find her and if she stayed, he would kill her. She was desperate, but running was all she knew." Ben took a deep breath, closing his eyes for a brief second before adding, "I offered to change that."

"So Carmen was right about you and Bella?" I blurted out.

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 05 Apr 2012 10:18 PM Title: Chapter 20 - The Road To Answers

looking forward to the next chapter 



Author's Response:

Thanks so much for the review, darlin. It means a lot to me. Much love to you - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at chapter 21:

"She told me everything; the boyfriend, the beatings and the trips to the hospital. She told me about her friends and then she panicked as if the same thing as going to happen to me simply because she told me the truth. It was all so heartbreaking and I didn't know what I could do to help her.

"In the end, all I could really do was be a friend to her. Give her that shoulder to cry on, talk to her when she needed it and just be with her when she needed to have someone close by." She finished with a shrug.

"She must have really trusted you to let you in like that. I don't think she does it very often," I told her. "For us - well my boss, really - it was like pulling teeth to get her to open up. They fought and argued for months before she finally started talking."

"She is a stubborn little thing, isn't she?" Carmen laughed. "We became really good friends through all of this but within a couple of months, I noticed her starting to distance herself again."

"Did she ever tell you why? Or did she just run without saying a word?" I questioned her.

"She would simply say it was nothing and leave it at that. If I tried to question her more about it, she would refuse to talk to anyone for the rest of the day. It was so odd and I didn't understand it until..." A small grin turned up the corner of her lips.

"Until what?" I asked when it didn't seem like she would finish.

"Until I saw her at the diner one evening after work," was all she said.

My forehead creased with the confusion I suddenly felt. She laughed loudly when she looked up to see my face.

"She was with a man."

Reviewer: TillITryIllNeverKnow Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Feb 2012 10:31 AM Title: Chapter 19 - Actions And Consequences

This whole story is one great big lusciously complex masterpiece.  You have given EACH character depth and genuine personality while moving the story along perfectly.  As I said, it is a masterpiece.  Thank you for sharing it with us all!  I look forward to your updates.



Author's Response:

Wow!!! That has to be the biggest compliment I've ever received. You put such a huge smile on my face and I thank you for your words. This story has been an interesting one to put together. I know I've taken several liberties when it comes to some details but they make the story easier to tell. I hope you stick with me because there are worse times ahead for these characters. Thanks so much for you review, darlin. I really, really appreciate it. Much love - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at chapter 20:

"I went through my whole story with him and he seriously flipped out. He was yelling; sometimes at me and sometimes at no one in particular. He kicked at the chairs, sending one flying a couple of feet backward. Then," I paused, a little afraid to tell Paul about this.

Just get it over with, Bella. He's going to hear it on the tape anyway.

"Then he started throwing punches." Paul's lip twitched and his eyes narrowed. I rushed to reassure him. "Not at me, I swear. He started punching the wall, mumbling things that made no sense. He just completely lost it and it scared the hell out of me. I didn't know what to do. Talking didn't work and yelling at him had no effect, so I did the only think I could think of."

I hesitated. I didn't want to tell him.

"And that was?" he asked.

"Ikissedhim." I rushed the words out.

"You what?"

I could feel my face turn bright red as I watched Paul try to hold in his laugh.

"You heard me." I didn't want to say it again.

"No really." He smirked. "You did what?"

The veins in his neck tensed with the effort he was using to keep from laughing. Glaring at him, I crossed my arms over my chest. The strain was evidently too much to take and his hands shot to his mouth as he burst into hysterics.

I swung at him through the bars. "God, I hate you."

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Feb 2012 10:36 PM Title: Chapter 19 - Actions And Consequences

looking forward to the next chapter



Author's Response:

I'm glad you liked it. I know I've been on a longer break than I should have been but this story's been tough for me. I've got a couple of chapters ready to go and I'm hoping to add to that so updates can be more regular. Thanks for continuing to read and review. It means a lot to me. Much love to you - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at chapter 20:

"I went through my whole story with him and he seriously flipped out. He was yelling; sometimes at me and sometimes at no one in particular. He kicked at the chairs, sending one flying a couple of feet backward. Then," I paused, a little afraid to tell Paul about this.

Just get it over with, Bella. He's going to hear it on the tape anyway.

"Then he started throwing punches." Paul's lip twitched and his eyes narrowed. I rushed to reassure him. "Not at me, I swear. He started punching the wall, mumbling things that made no sense. He just completely lost it and it scared the hell out of me. I didn't know what to do. Talking didn't work and yelling at him had no effect, so I did the only think I could think of."

I hesitated. I didn't want to tell him.

"And that was?" he asked.

"Ikissedhim." I rushed the words out.

"You what?"

I could feel my face turn bright red as I watched Paul try to hold in his laugh.

"You heard me." I didn't want to say it again.

"No really." He smirked. "You did what?"

The veins in his neck tensed with the effort he was using to keep from laughing. Glaring at him, I crossed my arms over my chest. The strain was evidently too much to take and his hands shot to his mouth as he burst into hysterics.

I swung at him through the bars. "God, I hate you."

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jan 2012 7:55 AM Title: Chapter 18 - A New Tension Builds

loved it looking forward to mroe 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it, darlin. I keep hoping for less time to pass between updates but things never work out the way I want them too. The next chapter is going to be a rough one. Bella goes through a few memories in this one and she's finally ready to talk about Emily. I really can't wait to hear what you think. Thanks for the review. Love you tons - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at chapter 19 from Carlisle's pov:

Guilt was beginning to eat away at me as I saw how much pain this caused her. Every tear she cried because I made her relive her worst nightmare was like a knife slicing into my chest. I loved her and I never wanted to hurt her, but that was exactly what I was doing with every word I forced her to speak.

"Don't." Her arms pulled us closer together. "Don't ever think that. You're not hurting me."

Her voice was steadier and was glad I was getting her back.

"These are the parts that hurt me the most."

Bella let me go and took a step back. My head fell from her shoulder and my eyes were glued themselves to the floor. I watched as her hand reached up to my chin and lifted my head and she studied my face for a minute. Her hand moved from under my chin to rest on my cheek.

"I can see it and I don't want you to feel guilty. You give me more strength than I've had in a really long time. You're one of the biggest reasons I'm making it through this as well as I am."

My hand reached up automatically, covering hers and holding it to my face. It felt good for her to touch me like this and her words made me feel so much better. I didn't want to hurt her, but if she believed I was helping her, then I was going to try harder so I wouldn't let her down.

"Thank you, Bella." I turned to kiss her palm. "You have no idea how much it kills me to see you like this, but I promise you, no matter what happens; I will be here for you as long as you let me."

Her face softened and her lips twisted up into a small grin.

"I know. And as long as you are here, I have one more story to get through today." She took a deep breath and the stress was immediately visible on her face. "Come with me. I think I need to sit for this one."

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Nov 2011 9:40 PM Title: Chapter 17 - The Only Reason To Stay

loved the chaptrer lookingforward to the next one 



Author's Response:

I'm glad you like it. We're going to be moving into the harder parts of Bella's past. But, before we do, there's so drama building in the prison and I have a new character to introduce. I hope you like her. Thanks for the review, darlin. You know I appreciate it. Much love - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at chapter 18:

"I just wish I knew how James always found me so fast." I looked up at him. "I never stayed more than six months in any given place, at least not until the end."

I had only been in California for a couple of months when running wasn't an option anymore. When James did find me, my first instinct was to get as far away from him as possible. I'd already had everything I needed to establish my new identity but, for the first time in two years, I had a reason to stay where I was.

"Your trail was fresh back then, Bella." Whitlock's comment brought my mind back to our conversation. "And from what I was told, he had so much money at his disposal that it would have been nearly impossible for him not to find you."

"You're right. It seemed like he had contacts everywhere and he definitely used them to his advantage."

It had taken a lot for me to like Whitlock and now that I did, I would do what I could to help him out and if that meant helping Alice so she wouldn't have to work so hard, that's what I was going to do. I slowed our pace down a little so we had a bit more time before talking became impossible.

I took a deep breath. "I want you to tell Alice I went to Nebraska first and my name was Belinda Stevens."

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 14 Oct 2011 2:50 PM Title: Chapter 16 - Out Of Hiding

looking forward to the next chapter 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you're still with me and that you like where this is going. Now that Bella's not afraid or worried to share things with Carlisle she's got a few more critical stories she needs to tell him before the trial starts. That is where this will get more interesting. Thanks so much for the review, darlin. You know how much I love to hear what you think. Love you tons - D

Until next time, here's a quick peek at chapter 17, which will be up tonight.

"It wasn't just the shame that kept me tied to him, though. By the time this happened, we'd been together for seven months and he knew enough about me that he was able to use my weaknesses against me."

"Meaning...?" Paul questioned me with the one word.

"Can I ask you a question?"

"No, because you're stalling," he replied.

"I'm really not. I need to know how much you know." He whispered his ‘okay' and I continued. "You know that Carlisle took a trip to Colorado so he could talk to my friends, don't you." It wasn't a question.

He nodded, but kept quiet.

"Did he tell you?" I asked.

"Tell me what?" he asked me in return.

"Did he tell you about my friends? Did he tell you what James did to them?" I felt my sadness build when I asked.

His face paled slightly and he swallowed hard as he nodded his head again.

Reviewer: CRAZYCARE4 Signed [Report This]
Date: 20 Sep 2011 11:04 AM Title: Chapter 15 - The Whole Truth

Wow I'm loving this story. I hope it's updated soon.

Author's Response:

I'm so glad you like my story. I hope you stick with me because things are going to start getting rough. Bella is going to need all the support she can get.  Thanks for the review, darlin. Much love to you - D

Here's a quick peek at chapter 16, which will be posted later today:

“But it’s two o’clock in the morning.” I wasn’t staying calm like she wanted. “What could have gone so wrong? Why wouldn’t he at least call? He has to know that I’m sitting here waiting and worrying about him.”

“Bella, if he’s busy, he may not have the chance to call,” she said.

We were both silent for a minute and I think she heard me crying because her tone was even softer than before.

“Honey, please stop. I’m sure he’s fine,” she repeated.

There was some rustling on her end and Sam voice came through the phone.

“Don’t cry, babe. Let me come and get you and we’ll go look for him, okay,” he suggested.

“Sam, it’s late. I can’t let you…” I tried to argue.

“I’m not asking your permission, Bella.” There was more rustling on the phone. “I’ll be there in twenty minutes.”

Emily got back on the phone and tried to stop my crying. I tried to get her to keep Sam home, but she told me he was already out the door. We stayed on the phone for another ten minutes before she forced me to hang up and get dressed.

A few minutes later, I was downstairs pacing the floor, listening to James’ voicemail again and waiting for Sam to show up. When the knock came, I rushed to the door, anxious to get going. I was in Sam’s arms the second I ripped it open, but before he put me back down, a set of headlights was shining on us.

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 01 Jul 2011 1:04 AM Title: Chapter 14 - No More Secrets

im excited to see what happens next! 

Reviewer: ebonyeyez1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 13 May 2011 7:52 AM Title: Chapter 13 - Letting It All Out

Amazing story!



Author's Response:

Thank you so much for reading this. I'm so glad you like it but we are only in the beginning. Hang on for the ride cuz it's gonna start getting intense. Thanks for the review, darlin. It means so much to me to get it.

Here is a quick preview of what's coming in chp 14. Much love to you, darlin – D

"It was his ultimate control…making me beg. It was what he lived for. He fed off of it and after the first time, he had me begging for everything, taking my dignity in the process." My eyes found the floor while I continued. "I was ashamed of what I turned into when I was with him, and it was because of that, that he was able to get away with everything he did."

"What does that even mean? What…"

Two hard knocks on the door interrupted his next question.

"That story is going to have to wait for another day."

I got up to move the chair to the other side of the table, but he grabbed my arm to stop me.

"Are you okay? I really am sorry for everything…you know…earlier." He stumbled over his words, completely unlike him.

I laid my hand on top of his and squeezed lightly. "Don't worry about me, Counselor."

His face fell slightly and I wanted to laugh at his expression, but I wanted him to know I was serious. I squeezed his hand a little more.

"I told you, Carlisle, no more stalling, remember? Tomorrow, my life is an open book, but I'm warning you, you're not going to like what's in it."

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 May 2011 8:25 PM Title: Chapter 13 - Letting It All Out

I suspected, but was never sure.  This was great, hon.  



Author's Response:

I had to know that you would know. I can't fool the master. LOL I'm glad you got the chance to read this and for all the feedback you left. You're awesome bb. Hope the book stuff is going well. Can't wait to have you back again. Love you so much - D

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 May 2011 8:14 PM Title: Chapter 13 - Letting It All Out

well that was a different twist! 



Author's Response:

I know everyone expected her lawyer to be Edward because that's usually the way it goes in the fic world, but it just wasn't possible here. Carlisle was the only character I could see actually worth of this role, but I promise, my reasoning will become clear as I get farther in. Thanks again for your review. It really means a lot to me.

Here is a quick preview of what's coming in chp 14. Much love to you, darlin – D

"It was his ultimate control…making me beg. It was what he lived for. He fed off of it and after the first time, he had me begging for everything, taking my dignity in the process." My eyes found the floor while I continued. "I was ashamed of what I turned into when I was with him, and it was because of that, that he was able to get away with everything he did."

"What does that even mean? What…"

Two hard knocks on the door interrupted his next question.

"That story is going to have to wait for another day."

I got up to move the chair to the other side of the table, but he grabbed my arm to stop me.

"Are you okay? I really am sorry for everything…you know…earlier." He stumbled over his words, completely unlike him.

I laid my hand on top of his and squeezed lightly. "Don't worry about me, Counselor."

His face fell slightly and I wanted to laugh at his expression, but I wanted him to know I was serious. I squeezed his hand a little more.

"I told you, Carlisle, no more stalling, remember? Tomorrow, my life is an open book, but I'm warning you, you're not going to like what's in it."

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 9:21 PM Title: Chapter 12 - Making Plans

whoa...I like Paul's defensive streak and I think I"m finally caught up!!!  Yeah!  Looking forward to more soon!

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 9:12 PM Title: Chapter 11 - What Leah Sees

Holy crap...does James have multiple personalities or something?  That whole kitchen encounter was surreal...almost like two different guys!

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 9:03 PM Title: Chapter 10 - The Choices We Make

I love Paul's little revelations and his friendship with Bella.  Jasper I feel torn between wanting to kick his ass and liking him.  LOL

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 8:49 PM Title: Chapter 9 - Holidays In Hell

I just love how you keep interweaving the stories of her past so seamlessly.  you've done a fantastic job that with in this story hon.  Brilliant!

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 8:31 PM Title: Chapter 8 - A Thousand Miles

I'd read the Emmett interview before in WC, but I never caught the end when we went to find Emily.  Can't wait to read more

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 8:18 PM Title: Chapter 7 - The Start Of It All

Loved the counselor's POV.  

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 9:01 AM Title: Chapter 4 - One Wall Down

I'd read quite a bit of this in WC, but I'd missed the prison fight.  I LOVED that part!

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 7:43 AM Title: Chapter 3 - The Party

Whew...so yeah...I think warning bells would be going off for me, but I grew up in an emotionally abusive household, so I would recognize it for what it was, I guess.  

Reviewer: A Cullen Wannabe Signed [Report This]
Date: 27 Apr 2011 7:02 AM Title: Chapter 2 - The Beginning

Wow...talk about your hindsight issues.  Poor Bella.  She's blaming herself but without knowing he was like that I know I would never suspect...

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Apr 2011 7:56 PM Title: Chapter 12 - Making Plans

well i hope that he dosetn push her away and she opens up before its too late 



Author's Response:

Hey darlin. His plan is a harsh one, but with the amount of time to get ready, he doesn't have a choice. If he follows through with it, he'll run the risk of losing any kind of relationship he's built with her so far.  If he doesn't, he might not get the few pieces of information he needs to get her out.  It's a very, very fine line to walk and he needs to be careful.  Thanks for another review, hun. I'm so glad you like this story and I hope you can stick with me through the end.

Here is your tease for next week. You'll know which decision my poor Counselor finally made.

"On your feet, Swan," Whitlock commanded, as he walked through my cell door.

I put my journal back under my pillow and jumped off the bed, ready to get this over with. I held out my hands so he could put the cuffs on.

"No fighting today." He cocked his eyebrow at me.

"No fighting." I felt the smallest tinge of color creep into my cheeks. "Sorry about that. I was having a bad day. I shouldn't have taken things out on you."

He shrugged, giving me the exact response I expected. I almost laughed but it didn't seem appropriate so I held it in.

"Let's go." He gave me a small nudge to get me moving.

It took longer than normal to walk to the meeting room and several times along the way, I could have sworn I heard Whitlock exhaling louder than necessary. When we finally made it to the door, I watch him hesitate slightly to put the key in the lock. His behavior was off and it was making me uncomfortable.

After unlocking the door, he led me into the room and sat me down in the chair just like normal so he could remove the handcuffs. He put his hand on my shoulder before he walked away. "I'm sorry," he whispered so softly that I almost missed it.

Before he left though, he actually looked me in the eye with an almost sad expression on his face, making me feel even worse than before. I knew something was up because he looked…bothered.

What the hell is going on?

Reviewer: cullen74 Signed [Report This]
Date: 31 Mar 2011 11:12 AM Title: Chapter 11 - What Leah Sees

I so love your story and can not ait to read a new chapter.  I am completely addicted. 



Author's Response:

I’m glad that you like my story. Things are going to get rough for these characters soon. So I’m glad you’re already addicted, otherwise you might leave me for a much nicer story. I will do my best to keep you interested though and not make it too hard to read.  Thank you so much for your review, darlin.  I appreciated it more than you know.  Much love to you - D

 

Here is your teaser for the next chapter and, just so you know, this one belongs to my dear Counselor and he has a couple of secrets to reveal.  So…until next time.

 

“Gah, you don’t have to get so defensive about it.  If that man had killed her, he would be spending the rest of his life in prison or worse.  Why should she get off so easily?”

 

I turned toward her and her cocked eyebrow showed me how uncaring this girl really was.  She passed judgment on Bella even though she knew nothing of the horrible past she had to endure.  I had to control my temper and get out of there before I gave this girl a piece of my mind.

 

“Is my food ready yet?” I said, every word dripping with disdain.

 

Her face fell slightly and I was sure my tone hurt her feelings, but in that moment I didn’t care. She turned and grabbed two bags off a table behind her and handed them to me.  After signing the credit card slip, I grabbed the bags and stormed out without so much as a thank you.

 

“Damn narrow minded people,” I mumbled to myself as I got in the car.  “I’d like to see her go through that and then maybe she would understand.”

 

As soon as the words left my mouth, I was instantly guilty.  How could I ever wish that on someone?  It was wrong and evil and vindictive and it hurt to think I could ever wish that kind of harm on someone… even if I didn’t truly mean it.

 

I drove back to the office, silently chastising myself for the argument with Jessica. I knew this case was going to be a sore spot with many people and I told myself not to take it personally when they expressed their views, but that was months ago, before Bella would talk to me.  Now that I was getting to know more about her and her life, everything about this case was personal.

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 29 Mar 2011 11:24 PM Title: Chapter 11 - What Leah Sees

i hope that she start feeling better for her self or she wont win her case! 



Author's Response:

Bella has a hard time with everything that happened and takes all the blame onto her own shoulders. She believes its her fault because she let James in. Its up to my dear Counselor to get her to believe that, that just isn't true.

Thanks for the review, darlin. I truly appreciate it. I hope you continue to enjoy this story because it's gonna really get going now.  Much love to you - D

And here is your teaser for the next chapter...enjoy.

“Hey you, we don’t see you in here much anymore.” She stepped from behind her podium and gave me a light hug.

I pulled away and smiled. “Sorry Jessica, I’ve been working a big case and it’s taking all of my time.”

“Right the Swan case. I remember Alice talking about that last week.  How’s it going?” She asked.

“We’re working really hard and with any luck, we’ll win and she can go free.”  I felt my pulse speed up like it always did when I thought of Bella.

“No offense, but she killed someone, prison is exactly where she needs to be.”

The attitude she used when she spoke triggered my protective side.

“How can you even say that?  You don’t anything about her,” I snapped at her.

Her eyes grew wide at my tone.  I’d never spoken so harshly to her or anyone else for that matter.

“Murder is murder, right?  You take a life, you belong in prison.”  Her answer was simple but she spoke with a haughty attitude.

“You have no idea what that girl went through. Sometimes life doesn’t give us another choice.”

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Feb 2011 4:45 PM Title: Chapter 9 - Holidays In Hell

hes falling more and more for her! keepe the updates comming



Author's Response:

Gah I am so sorry. I spaced replying to your last review. I'll keep a better eye out next time.

And yes, he's a total goner; completely in love with the girl he wants to save. Now, just so you know, I've talked to him and he told me that, if Jasper hadn't knocked on that door, he probably would have. He doesn't think he's gonna be able to hold out much longer. One more bad day like that one and that'll be it for him.  But, with as much as he wants to, will Bella let him or will he end up with another black eye?  Hmmm I wonder.

Thanks for the review and I really do hope to hear from you after the next chapter. Much love to you - D

Reviewer: lanigirl96003 Signed [Report This]
Date: 23 Jan 2011 1:55 PM Title: Chapter 8 - A Thousand Miles

cant wait to see what he has instore for her case! 

Reviewer: loveuggs Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2011 3:20 PM Title: Chapter 7 - The Start Of It All

Nice, really like the story and am still trying to think of a good reason why you don't have more reviews! eep up the good work!



Author's Response:

If you can figure out the whole review thing, you make sure to let me know. :D  Honestly, the amount doesn't matter.  This is a story that I had to tell and I'm just glad the number on my favorites list keeps going up because that means its a story people are reading.  I seem to be flying through the chapters right now so the updates will stay pretty regular.  All I ask is that you keep letting me know what you think. I love to hear people's thoughts, good or bad, it doesn't matter.

Thanks for the review, sweets.  Catch ya next week - D

Reviewer: loveuggs Signed [Report This]
Date: 12 Jan 2011 3:19 PM Title: Chapter 6 - True Colors

Ok I seriously dont understand why you dont have more reviews. Seriously. Great story! Keep up the good work!



Author's Response:

You are so kind, darlin. Run...hurry...go tell all your friends. LOL   

Seriously though. I kept this story under lock and key for a long time and finally put it out there so I'm glad you like it. Thanks for the love - D

Reviewer: shelikesthesound Signed [Report This]
Date: 03 Dec 2010 11:10 PM Title: Chapter 3 - The Party

A very interesting story so far. Really looking forward to finding out how she got into this mess.



Author's Response:

Hey girl. I'm glad you're liking the story. Bella had to deal with so much in her time with him and she got pushed to the edge with no other way out. Thanks for the review hun. Much love to you - D

Reviewer: angel27eyes Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Dec 2010 10:15 AM Title: Chapter 3 - The Party

I like this story! Can't wait for more!!! it's different!



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you like it. We are still in the good part of the story. Bella has some pretty rough and intense moments that she's had to deal with.  Hang in there for the ride.  Thanks for the review - D

Reviewer: lluvy21 Signed [Report This]
Date: 02 Dec 2010 5:02 AM Title: Chapter 1 - How I Got Here

Ok love this story! Great begining, great everything! Can't wait for the next update!!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



Author's Response:

I'm so glad you like it.  I hope to hear from you more as new chapters post.  Thanks so much for the review - D

Reviewer: amanda29 Signed [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2010 6:27 PM Title: Chapter 1 - How I Got Here

I like the story so far



Author's Response:

Bella has some pretty intense moments throughout the story.  I hope you continue to like it as I go on.  Thanks for the review. - D

Reviewer: Roon1 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2010 6:01 PM Title: Chapter 1 - How I Got Here

This is an intense start to your story.  Looking forward to more.



Author's Response:

Bella's has been through a lot and this is just the beginning. I've been holding on to this story for a while and I finally felt ready to put it out there.  I hope you like it.  Thank you so very much for the review.   D

Reviewer: Andromida1964 Signed starstarstarstarstar [Report This]
Date: 17 Nov 2010 3:45 PM Title: Chapter 1 - How I Got Here

This is one of the best beginning chapters I have ever read. I am looking forward to reading every single chapter you write of this. :)



Author's Response:

One of these days, if I can find it again, I'll share the picture of the view I described in the beginning.  It's beautiful.  You know how nervous I am about this one lady.  Thanks for standing with me through this one.  Lots of love - D

You must login (register) to review.